Authentic thai green curry

Posted on November 24, 2010. Filed under: Chawal/rice/pulao/biryani, Subzi | Tags: , |

INGREDIENTS PASTE I

Lemongrass (sliced finely): 1 stalk I Ground coriander: 2 tsp I Vegetarian fish sauce: 3 tbsp I Brown sugar: 1 tsp I Green chillies (deseeded): 1-3 I Small onion: 1I Garlic: 2 cloves I Ginger (peeled): 1 piece I Kaffir lime leaves (fresh): 2-3 I Fresh coriander leaves and stems: 1 cup I Dark soy sauce: 1½ tsp OTHER I Kaffir lime leaves: 2-3 I Coconut milk: 1 can I Packaged tofu, cut: 1I Red bell pepper: 1 I Snow peas: 1 cup I Fresh sweet basil (chopped roughly): 1 cup I Thai brinjals: 1/2 cup I Oil for frying: 3 tbsp I Optional: Other vegetables of your choice such as carrots, broccoli, baby corn, mushroom, etc.
METHOD
I
To make the green curry paste, place all paste ingredients in a food processor. Add a little of the coconut milk (enough to keep the blades going). Process well. I Place oil in wok. Turn heat on medium-high and add paste. I Stir fry until fragrant (about 1 minute), then add coconut milk. I Add wheat and stir. I Add kaffir lime leaves and cover the pan. I Turn the heat down to medium-low and allow to simmer. I Add bell pepper and yam/sweet potato. I Cover and cook another 10 minutes. I Finally, add snow peas, stir and continue cooking for 2-4 minutes. I Do a taste test for salt and spice. I To serve, place on a serving platter or in a large serving bowl. Sprinkle with fresh basil. I Accompany your curry with Thai jasmine-scented rice

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

