Chicken dhansak

Posted on November 24, 2010. Filed under: Non-veg | Tags: , |

INGREDIENTS

I Vegetable oil or ghee: 4 tbs I Mixed lentils: 1 cup I Chicken pieces (skinned): 500 gms I Chicken stock: 1/2 litre I Cinnamon: 1 piece I Cloves: 6 I Cumin seeds: 1/2 tbsp I Coriander seeds: 1/2 tbsp I Peppercorns: 7 I Bay leaves: 3 I Star anise: 1I Sesame seeds: 1/2 tsp I Grated nutmeg: 1/4 tsp I Turmeric powder: 1 tsp I Dried red chilies: 2 I Fenugreek seeds: 1/2 tsp I Mint leaves: 50 gms I Fresh coriander leaves: 70 gms I Fresh fenugreek leaves: 60 gms I Ginger paste: 1 tbsp I Tamarind paste:1 tbsp I Garlic paste:1 tbsp I Salt to taste.
METHOD
I Wash the lentils and soak in cold water. Add salt and turmeric. Add chicken stock. Whisk the lentils. I Dry roast all the spices. Grind to a fine powder and mix in the turmeric and nutmeg. I Fry the chicken pieces. Set aside. I Stir-fry fresh coriander, fenugreek and mint leaves. Heat a pan. Add the whole chilies and fry. Add a cup of water, the lentils, the chicken pieces and salt. Simmer for 25-30 min. I Serve chicken dhansak hot with rice and cucumber salad

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

