Mediterranean baingan ka bharta

Posted on November 24, 2010. Filed under: My favourite, Subzi | Tags: , |

Baingan ka bharta

INGREDIENTS

I 1/2 kg brinjals I 4 garlic pods I 2 onions I Olive oil I 8 pieces of olives I hung yogurt I green chillies I ground pepper I salt
METHOD I The process is the same as making a regular baigan ka bharta which is char broiling the brinjals (big blue brinjals) on a coal cigdi or gas.
I Peel the brinjal and mash it with a fork in a bowl. This helps retain its smokiness.
I Chop, fried garlic and onion in a deep pan with ordinary olive oil and then add mashed brinjals and stir till red. I Switch off the flame and drizzle olive oil on the mash while it’s still hot. The oil will open up with incredible aroma and possibilities in the brinjal mash. I Chop very fine green spring onions, chives, green chillies, and salt if needed and with fresh ground pepper. I Fold into some hung whipped yogurt which in turn is folded into a cold baigan ka bharta. I Drizzle some more heated olive oil (1tsp) just before serving. Garnish with chopped olives.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

