Mutton biryani

Posted on November 24, 2010. Filed under: Chawal/rice/pulao/biryani, My favourite | Tags: , |

INGREDIENTS

I Lamb leg: 500 gms I Onion, sliced: 1 cup I Ginger, chop: 1 inch I Garlic: few cloves I Coriander powder: 3 tsp I Green chilies: 3 I Chili powder: 1 tsp I Dried coconut: 2 tsp I Poppy seeds: 1 tsp I Cardamom, cloves: 3 I Peppercorns: 5 I Cinnamon, stick: 1 inch I Curd: 1 cup I Salt to taste I Desi ghee: 3 tbsp RICE I Basmati rice: 2 cups I Onion: ¼ cup I Cloves: 3 I Cinnamon: 1 I Cardamom: 3 I Bay leaf: 2 I Salt to taste I Desi ghee: 5 tbsp I Saffron: few strands I Kewra water: 2-3 drops.
METHOD
I Clean and cut meat and soak in curd. I Roast and powder cloves, cardamom, cinnamon and peppercorns. I Grind together the red chilies, half of the onions, ginger, garlic, green chilies and coconut.
I Heat desi ghee, add sliced onions and sauté, add ground spices. I Add meat, sauté and add ground poppy seeds. I Pour in remaining curd and season, cook gently till meat is tender. I Sprinkle powdered spices and remove from fire. FOR THE RICE I Heat fat, fry onions and remove, add whole spices. I When spices crackle, add rice. Add salt and double water. I When rice is cooked, remove from fire. FOR THE BIRYANI I Make a layer of rice in a pan, sprinkle with saffron water and
kewra water. Place meat layer over it and
again cover with rice. Seal with dough and keep on slow flame for five minutes. I Serve hot, garnished with fried onions, chopped coriander, mint and fried nuts and raita.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

