Rava idli

Posted on December 21, 2010. Filed under: idli | Tags: , |

INGREDIENTS I

Rava: 1kg I Refined oil: 3-4 tbs I Mustard seeds: 1/2 tsp I ginger (chopped): 1 tsp I green chillies (chopped): 2 tsp I curry leaves (chopped): 25 gms I cashew nuts: as desired I Gram dal: approx 50 gms I curd: 1 1/2 ltr I soda: a pinch I coriander leaves: a bunch I salt to taste. METHOD I In a kadai, heat about 3-4 tablespoons of oil. I Add mustard seeds, gram dal, cashew nuts, green chillies, ginger and curry leaves in that order. Fry all the above ingredients for a minute or two. I Then add the semolina (rava) and toss till ingredients are mixed. Continue to cook until the rava changes colour and emits a light roasted aroma. I Remove from fire and allow the mixture to cool. I A couple of minutes before steaming the idlis, place the cooled mixture in a vessel. Add curd, a pinch of soda, salt to taste and a bunch of coriander leaves and mix well. Take care to see that no lumps remain. I Fill the idli cups/moulds with the batter and cook the idlis in an idli cooker for about 10 minutes. I The idlis are ready to serve. Served best with coriander chutney and potato sagoo (sabji

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

