Sicilian Caponata

Posted on December 21, 2010. Filed under: Subzi | Tags: |

INGREDIENTS

I Medium sized eggplant, (cut into 2-inch pieces): 2 I Olive oil: 2 tbsp I Small onion (chopped): 1 I Garlic clove (chopped): 1 I Celery sticks, (cut into ½ inch pieces): 4 I Canned tomatoes: 1 cup I Pitted large green olives: 6 I White wine vinegar: ¼ cup I Basil leaves: 6 I Pinenuts:10 gms I Salt to taste I Sugar: 3 tsps.
METHOD
I In a colander, lay the eggplant and salt. Place the colander in a bowl; set aside for 30 minutes to drain. I In a flameproof casserole, heat olive oil over medium high heat. Add onion, garlic and celery and cook until celery is soft. Add tomatoes and olives, cook for another 10 minutes on slow heat. Turn off the heat. I Now, deep fry the eggplants in batches so that they are fully cooked. I Add the eggplants to the tomato mixture.Turn the heat to medium. Add vinegar and sugar to give it a sweet and sour taste.
    Continue cooking for five minutes
    and add salt if you like.
    I Chop the basil and add to the
    mixture along with pinenuts and serve hot.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

